Latest News

Second annual MDE a great success

On October 6, 2011 the Professional Interior Designers Institute of Manitoba (PIDIM) hosted its second annual Manitoba Design Exchange (MDE)- a Table Top Trade Show. Fifty-eight Exhibitors joined more than 300 members of Manitoba's design community for the successful evening event, held at the Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre.

New to this year's show, was the afternoon CEU sessions and the MDE-Passport.Three excellent CEU presentations were held: Interior Design Services Agreement, by Betty A Johnstone of Aikins Law; Removing More Barriers by Brian Everton of Design For All Inc.; and Presentation Skills: Best Practice by Stacey Strey Territory Manager, Teknion. Each presentation was an hour in length and are eligible for the PIDIM Professional Development Program (PDP). The MDE Passport program was also very well received with twelve exhibitors signing up to be part of this program. PIDIM would like to congratulate Aleks Olivson of Northern Sky Architecture Inc., for successfully visiting each exhibitor and having his passport drawn.

The show kicked-off with a presentation by Chione (Chione) to Industry members. Over 100 Industry friends were in attendance and we were joined by Jenn Taggart, Director of Business Development from Chione. The successful relationship between industry and design is integral to our business and PIDIM welcomes the opportunity to celebrate this connection at every opportunity. To view images to this year's MDE, click here.

The MDE-2011 Show Committee would like to thank the following Exhibitor Sponsors:

Show Sponsor
Marco Products

Social Hub Sponsor
Contemporary Office Interiors

Platinum Sponsors
Patcraft / Shaw Hospitality
Provincial Floor Craft
Shaw Contract Group

Gold Sponsors
Global Group
Herman Miller
Teknion Limited

Silver Sponsors
Crown Wallpaper and Fabric
Flo Form Countertops
Julian Ceramic Tiles
Metro Wallcoverings
Northwest Carpets
Odyssey Wallcoverings
Ram Marketing

Finally a show of this magnitude could not have run as efficiently as it did if it wasn't for the organization behind it. The following people deserve recognition for all of their hard work and effort that went into the planning and organizing:
Stephen Lamoureux, ADI group - Chair
Maria Baumgartner, MTS Allstream
Jean-Marc Blanc, Jean-Marc Blanc Interior Design
Ron Braun, Patcraft / Shaw Hospitality
Nancy Carpenter, Flo Form Countertops
Maribeth Dono, ADI group
Tracy Dyck, S3 Interior Design Inc
Jennifer Forzley, Ceratec
William Gray, ADI group / University of Manitoba
Leanne Hartry, Marco Products
Vanda Lawlor, Metro Wallcoverings
Cindy Mallin, Ram Marketing,
Alison Mudry, Crown Wallpaper + Fabric
Tamara Nyysola, University of Manitoba
Cecilia Turner, Cibinel Architects Ltd.
Mei Wu, Number Ten Architectural Group
Jennifer Wiwchar-Fast, Ideate Design Consulting

And our final and special thank you goes out to the University of Manitoba Department of Interior Design students who volunteered for shifts and made up our Reception greeters.

National Industry Partners